Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
eccoMAGIC Forums
05/03/24 at 20:00:53
News: The Yahoo New Yahoo! Ecco_Pro forum was ended by Yahoo's end of board support... New group is at groups.io
Home Help Search Login Register

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Memory misery (Popularity: 13410 )
rmellon
EccoMagic Apprentice

I Love Ecco!

Show the link to this post Memory misery
04/29/10 at 09:43:19

I have been using ECCO Pro for many years.  I use it to run my business and I love it.  Well my main file got to about 28 meg and I started running into memory problems.  Mainly the Out-of ID's error message, which essentially killed the program, since everytime the error message came up and I hit "OK", it would immediately reappear.  The only way out was control-alternate-delete.  

I figured out that if I took a backup file that was not yet past the memory limit, I could disconnect the file from the Master file (I use synchronized ECCO on three machines), I could rename the file and make it a new Master file.  After reducing the file's overall size to about 5 meg.  Problem solved, right?  Wrong.  I've had to disconnect about three times in the last few months and reducing file size does very little to solve the problem.  

Now I'm getting the "Unable to complete command, low memory condition detected" whenever I add a note.  I downloaded "memory reporter and ran it with the following results:  16,597 Items, 17,547 View Lines, 17,936 Pointers and 47,591 Free.  Nothing to suggest that I'm near any memory limits.  

I'm desparate.  My business is on hold.  What do I do now?

IP Logged
Admin
Administrator

I love Ecco!

Show the link to this post Re: Memory misery
Reply #1 - 04/29/10 at 10:29:50

read the Memory reporter thread...  

there are links also for fixing auto-date folders-- sounds like your issue.

if you look,  think you'll see that solves the problem.

28 Megs is not too big at all.

Your problem is not file size.. (you can go back to larger file, etc.).